War (What I Always Was)

Don’t call it a fight

When you know it’s a war,

I haven’t snapped

You have not yet cried.

 

Certain battles

Leave bitter scars

But strikes in the middle of peace

Kill.

 

Don’t call it a fight.

 

A defense mechanism

You called it

Full-body shut down-

Bittersweet safety.

 

You know it’s a war.

 

Though you’ve not said

What is known to be true:

That it’s in my blood

A shaking of veins

Burning through my mind.

 

Don’t call it a fight

When you know it’s apocalyptic.

 

“Stop running”

Arms outstretched to me,

But I cannot turn to your embrace

I must set out to sail further

For renegades never settle.

I am a renegade,

You see.

 

Despite smitten looks and held hands

I am a renegade,

I always was.

 

 

Leave a Reply

