Out Of The Haze

“A little too committed”

Tore them apart.

I’m almost out of the haze now

Honey-moon stage complete

I realize you’re a surrogate,

Feeding me the ego I crave

Distancing my reliance

On the ones already

Out on the other side…

I’m not saying I don’t love you,

The exact opposite, I think

But I’m throwing out ego

And replacing it with lines-

Pages already filled

With memories of the forgotten

And the hopes of my abandon,

My friends.

She’s been hidden in the fog

A little thicker than mine

She betrayed her own heart

For the heart of mine;

An act of love that cannot

Will not

Go unrequited.

No,

It’s not a summer alone,

It’s a summer to rekindle.

Leave a Reply

