Poison & Blood

“Don’t look at me like that.” A young, petite girl with chocolate brown hair stood outside her local 7/11 with a cigarette in her hand. Behind her, a slightly older boy had exited the building. He smirked at her.

“Like what, Char?” Charlotte flicked her cigarette to the ground and turned to face him.

“Don’t call me Char anymore, Jay.”

“What? Still broken? Still sore? Well if I can’t call you Char anymore, than you have to refer to me as Jonathan. Is that ok, CHARLOTTE?

Charlotte cringed and began to walk away. Half of her wanted to whirl around and offer forgiveness to the brown-haired-blue-eyed boy behind her, but the other half wouldn’t allow Jay the satisfaction. She smiled to herself, squinting behind her Aviators. It would be the perfect revenge, not allowing him forgiveness. Charlotte couldn’t remember a time when Jay had been denied something or someone. That boy always found a way around the rules. Not this time. This time I have control.

“You still haven’t answered me; like what, Charlotte,” Jay yelled.

“Like I’m a kicked puppy or something.” He snickered in a way that made Charlotte’s blood rise up to a boil.

“Oh, but aren’t you though? I would know, considering I was the one doing the kicking.” Charlotte heard his footsteps over to her and felt is smooth, muscular arm slip around her waist. Thank God I wore my leather jacket and not a crop top today. He couldn’t touch her skin beneath the oversized jacket.

“Kicking isn’t the only thing you’ve been doing.”

“Really? What else have I been doing?” His lips ran over Charlotte’s ear. She refused the shiver that threatened to phase her.

“Madison.” Jay let her go, and Charlotte resumed her quick-pace trot away. She couldn’t turn back, not now. Not after how far she’d sailed without her anchor.

“I may have been doing Madison, but you’re the only girl I’ve ever loved.”

“Liar!” Charlotte broke down, gave in to the anger that had been trapped inside. It was better than giving in to the lingering feelings she still carried.

“Don’t you think I’d know if you loved me? Don’t you think it’d show? All you ever did was push me and reject me and made me feel like I was worthless to you until one day you decided I’d gotten hot enough for you. You don’t care about me, you never did and you never will.” Jay snorted.

“You know what Char? You’re right. You are just another walking, talking pair of tits to me. So why don’t you just shut your worthless trap and get out of here.” Tears burned behind Charlotte’s eyes. She knew it was true, but it still hurt to acknowledge it. To acknowledge that the time she spent waiting for him to come around was a waste. He wouldn’t change, especially not for her.

“You know what, Jay? You think you’re so high and mighty, I can’t wait to see the day when you fall.”

“What makes you think I’ll fall?”

“Because some day you’re going to be the only one you’ve got. And you’re just not enough.”

Charlotte stomped off, agitated but proud. She hadn’t given in. She hadn’t lost herself to him again. Charlotte had finally rebelled against his desires.

 

 

Leave a Reply

