Too Much Too Soon

I love you

So easy to say to paper

But impossible to utter

Even in a whisper.

I saw you for the first time

Again

Despite previous glances

In a parking lot

Bitter with cold

And colder still when fear

Prickled at me,

All too familiar.

When you looked at me

In that dainty little coffee shop

I knew I wasn’t alone

With that feeling.

Now you’re mine,

Yet I’m still afraid

With every right to be.

Time to open up

Time to let you in

Time to trust you won’t bolt out the door

Or slip out the back.

And I do trust you

And I think you trust me,

But I still can’t find my fire

Even with my burning desire

I still can’t find the courage to say

I love you.

Leave a Reply

