The Girl Of Change

I was a rebel with a cause
An insurrectionist of passion
With a personal vendetta
A glare of defiance
Written in my grin
A vow, an oath
Boycott ignorance
Protest apathy
A lose bolt
Of society’s machine
A recalcitrant cog
Demurring to mesh.
They screwed me in
Ladening me with pressure
Straightening out the kinks
Replacing my joints with their steel
I’ll dance in their puppet show
Even though my strings are cut
I’m still crumpled
Just in ways they can’t see
A beat out of rhythm
To quiet to hear, for now
Creased, scrunched, rumpled
I’m a rebel with a cause
Burning
Bitter
Moving
Flaming
I am the damsel of the inferno
The girl of bitter endings
But I am still
The girl of change.

Leave a Reply

