Right Behind My Teeth (Renegade)

I don’t even know myself at all

I know you completely

Shouldn’t I feel safe by now?

I feel safe in your arms

Where’s the warmth  of complacent minds?

My mind is at rest with you

His kiss still leaves

He tastes like

A metal taste in my mouth

Love, but sweeter

Sickening to the bone.

Sweeter, like the future.

If there’s one trait of mine

If there’s one trait of yours

I’d like to shed

That tastes the sweetest

It’d be my renegade blood

It’d be the way you see me

My tendency to flee

Your tendency to see

Before things get to good

The good left in me

I wonder if he can tell the things I see in him

So many things in his ocean eyes:

A hungering need

For acceptance

A kind heart and a caring soul

A dark, injured past

And a bright future.

I wonder what he sees

I know what he sees

In mine?

In mine.

Blueberry sweetness

A semi-smile

And a hopeful heart

A warmer past

With

Fear

Anticipation

Of the future

And the fear of running

Again.

I do love him

I do love him

I do love him

But I wonder if he can see

I hope he can see

How afraid I am of

I’d do anything for

Him.

Leave a Reply

