For The Thoughtful

For a girl so opinionated
I write softly
Politics and violence
Do not flow easily
From my pen.

For a mind so busy
With protests and revolution
I write of love and life
Of friendships and drama
To curb the intensity.

For a heart so rebellious
It is under the control
Of my loved ones
Quelled by their affections,
Soothes my bite

For a poem so thoughtful
It was written in an inferno
Of rape culture and civil turmoil
Where ignorance is encouraged,
Celebrated,
While acumen is spat at
And ingenuity
Results in hatred.

Welcome to reality,
Welcome to the world
I cannot ever seem to write about.

One thought on “For The Thoughtful

Leave a Reply

