The Puzzle Piece

I am a puzzle piece
With the resilience of cardboard
And the adhesiveness of glue.
I fit into several puzzles
Not just one
But so far
When I compare the acrylic paint
I wear
To the satin pictures around me
I’m isolated
Awkward and out of place.
I try to detach
But the glue’s too strong;
I’m forced to leave
A small part of me behind.
It never hurts too bad,
Cardboard has very little brawn.
So now I’m cautious
When I find a new puzzle
Where my edges fit.
If I keep ripping out
The day will come-
The day I most fear-
When there isn’t enough
Of me left
To fit in
In the puzzle
Whose picture I complete,
Where I’ve always truly belonged.

Leave a Reply

