But I Just Can’t Have You

Sometimes I look at him

Quick, stolen glances

I know I shouldn’t,

That I’m just burdening myself

But there’s no one

More intoxicating than

he

It’s funny, I think

How wrong you can be

Someone seems so perfect

On the surface

Next thing you know

What you thought to be

Forever

Became a twisted

never

What was it about him

That I had even

loved

In the first place?

So I watch him now

And I recant the nights

He took rest from me

I was moonstruck

Believing I could alter him

Believing that he’d change

For a girl like

me.

Leave a Reply

