Disapproving Signs

I think the universe is telling me

To let go of you

Every melody on the radio

The words on the back

Of a stranger’s T-shirt

The tears that cascade from the sky

When the clouds turn charcoal

The casual glimpse

Of a brunette boy on a brick street

And the black colour

Sewn around my neck.

I say screw the universe

I won’t listen to the radio anymore

And how can I read the back

Of a stranger’s T-shirt

When my eyes are trained on you?

And on the days the clouds pout gray

I have you,

A ray of peachy glow

And when raindrops fill my eyes

I feel a finger trail of yours

From my cheek bone to my chin

More comforting than change.

As for the black colour

Sewn around my neck,

I feel it in your grasp

Been ripped out

One stitch at a time

And despite the pain it brings

Every time my soul

Become a little less dark

I feel a little more free.

I need you.

Leave a Reply

