Winter Leaves

I hate the cold

But I still surround myself

With plunging icicles,

The world does not melt around me

For I am not summer

But a pleasant autumn breeze

Unrecognized

In the present of extremes.

They believe

I am also ice

As I hide behind mirrors

They see only their own white

No maroons or marigolds.

I hate the cold

But I lay

In the Arctic

And pretend I can stay,

Where frostbite and flu

Weapons of hate

Threaten my bare

Peaceful trees.

I am under constant fire

From the Winter Queen,

For she sees I am the ruler

Of my own seasonal fortress

So she tears and chops

Ripped apart my personality.

I am freezing

Fingers blue

Lips white

I am freezing

I mustn’t stay

But I see no place for leaves

In the snow.

Leave a Reply

