In What World Do I Thrive?

So deeply I crave to travel the opaque forest

That thrives in my head.

I hold an entire world in the folds of my mind

But I stay in a single city.

I fear if I aim for confidence in New York City

I shall fall flat in Harlem.

I spent a year in Paris

Until the lights of the Eiffel Tower turned off for good,

The City of Love didn’t look so lovely without them.

Urban sounds and smells call me to Dubai

And I can see a party on the horizon

But drinks and dresses aren’t as appealing as Austria-

To Vienna and to Salzburg

Where I can sit in a quaint little coffee shop

And be with my thoughts or a good book for awhile.

But even the best books come to an end,

And my thoughts still feel incomplete.

I reside in New Orleans

Trumpets and saxophones vibrate without pause.

A feeling that needs no words,

And a feeling words could never describe.

Bitter silence creeps up my neck

I am headed to Moscow

And biting terror

Warns that I may never leave-

And so I have stayed

In the little city in my conscious mind,

It’s my own private island

No countries, states, or borders

And more neutral than Switzerland.

But yet I bleed for Paris

So I close my eyes

And aim for New York City.

2 thoughts on “In What World Do I Thrive?

  1. ToddMedicii says:

    I really, really love this. It’s universally connecting. The wanderlust that has specifics to it. It’s painful, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

