The Last Good Thing

Strength doesn’t come from serendipity

Skeletons weren’t just meant to hold you up.

It doesn’t matter if you were the last good thing about this part of town

When all I need to do is drive somewhere else.

It doesn’t matter if you were the last good thing about my weekends

Because Sunday evening rolls around eventually

And I can spend it alone watching black-and-white reruns

Knowing Monday morning takes no prisoners.

And in the end it’s the heartbroken that wins anyways

What’s the point of being vigilant when you just end up victorious?

No one comes out on top without battle scars.

So throw your damn parties

Celebrate your little laurels

All it does is decrease your value in the long run.

I stand battered

Maybe we’re all made of glass

But someone made me bulletproof.

Freshman year I stood untouched

Sophomore year made me an enemy

Junior year made me five

Senior year could make me into an angel

More likely I’ll be a valkyrie,

Warriors are so much more interesting

And God knows life has made me strong enough for it.

You could never imagine brawn I possess

In the sword and the pen,

Have fun being complacent

And peaking in high school.

If you were the last good thing

Then I’ll keep bleeding for another week or two

But the great things are on their way

So I won’t cry anymore on what was just good,

I do pretty darn well on my own.

Leave a Reply

