Gentleman

Said I’d be alone this time
I have no interest in a gentleman.
I’m still sewing up the broken pieces
But I can’t be left with nothing but sullen silence

I only perk up
When someone’s willing talk to me
With hopeless regret
And I have hatred so much weaker
Than when he left me the first time

I don’t need it
I don’t feel it
I could be all by myself but I’m still pining.
That’s more than I can say for him.

Where is my dignity?
I know he’s not a gentleman.
But something tells me this is the way to go
Maybe sinister is the only love I know

Next week the spring sun may quell me
Maybe it’ll tell me
Why I’ve been so cold-
Since my heart’s been AWOL,
I think I saw it once last year.

I want the
Feeling of…
This was all a mistake but I can’t fix it,
So I’m going to close my eyes again.

I can’t be alone this time
I have an interest in a gentleman.
Maybe they just don’t exist
But I can’t be left with nothing but silence again.

Leave a Reply

