The Girl Before

And every time he wants more

I wonder about the girl before

Did she scream as loud as I did?

Did she collapse and cry and die inside?

Tears streaming from her eyes

Until her heart was dry

Was bitterness her new mantra?

An unwavering stoniness her anthem?

I do not think I could ever look her in the eye

I know exactly what she’d see in mine

She’d see the way he used to hold her hand

The life that they had planned

She’d see his arms tucked around her

With him, how she’d never flounder

The safety and the joy

The sarcastic and the coy

And then she’d see his arm on my shoulders

And the truth would hit her like a boulder

They were gone

The love they shared gone

Everything they had gone

I remember how that felt.

One thought on “The Girl Before

Leave a Reply

