Stay

Is it just the weather

Or is it something more?

Will I get better

Once it gets warm?

_

Am I not meant to be

Alive in love?

Am I not meant to be

In love while I’m alive?

_

And my body shivers

At the thought of letting you go,

But for some reason I do so much better

In life when I’m alone.

_

My brain tells me to stay with you

My heart just doesn’t know

I guess I’ll stick around for now

If for nothing more than a show.

_

I have to believe to stay sane

I want to have trust,

But when you say her name

My head feels rushed.

_

My confidence says you won’t leave

But my insecurities are angry and mean

How can I stay confident when I feel deceived?

Those girls are so plain but they turn me green.

_

So I shut my eyes blindly

To the words that feel wrong

I’ll take every sentence kindly

And let the nights get long.

2 thoughts on “Stay

Leave a Reply

