A Tribute To David Bell

I sit on an Bench

Engraved David Bell

My mother’s friend’s husband

Whom I’ve never met

Who I never will.

I’m sitting on his memorial.

Yet words rush from his mouth

Into hot metal

Into my eyes

Tethered to space but untethered to time.

He speaks

Not an idea

But a feeling

That takes hold and fills me with passion

That left me sitting on a cool bench

In sunny Pass-A-Grille.

From a man who’s loss I can never fully appreciate

Words I’ve never heard spoken

In a voice a cannot imagine

Placed on a bench

Touchable

Tangible.

In complete silence, I hear them:

“I think I’m quite ready for another adventure.”

Leave a Reply

